Everyday by David Levithan and its beauty and flaws

Have you ever read a book that you read immediately the moment you set your eyes on it and you’re actually having questions in the beginning hoping to be answered in the end but then it had let you down?! Well, me I have. Everyday by David Levithan. It’s the first time I read something that he wrote that’s why I was kinda excited.

I love the book. I loved the way how it started because it was new to me and the plot was unique. I loved the way how vague the protagonist is that actually made me think critically. I loved how the author somehow never left someone, how almost everybody in this world was in the book: gays, lesbians and boys and girls of all types– the suicidal or the depressed, the religious one, the pothead, the romantic and the not, and etc. It portrays so much of the reality really, that awes me.

image
I had also agreed to most of the protagonist’s philosophies and realizations. In fact I quoted some parts in the book:

“Happiness is so rarely a part of my vocabulary, because for me it’s so fleeting.”

“Every relationship has a hard part at the beginning. It’s not like a puzzle piece where there’s an instant fit. With relationships you have to shape the pieces on each end before they go perfectly together.”

“Just because you break up with someone, it doesn’t mean you’re free of him.”

“Putting up the fear of being with the wrong person because you can’t deal the fear of being alone.”

and this part..

image

“..For whatever reason, we like to focus on the 2 percent that’s different, and most of the conflict in the world comes from that.”

I couldn’t agree more especially the last part. I totally agree that 98% of all human beings are biologically equal and the 2% difference is what all humanity has been really into, and the main cause of conflicts and arguments and wars. Religion, race, gender, beliefs, locations. *sigh

Also, I was not only inlove with the book but also the protagonist! I so love A ❤ He’s somewhat my kind of dream guy because he has a sense of responsibility and he is naturally good and appreciates every little thing and he gets so concern and careful whenever he’s in love and lastly, he’s the one who’s willing to sacrifice. The kind of guy that I wanted to meet. My heart broke when he wasn’t given the chance to be with the love of his life, when he needed to sacrifice just to make Rhiannon happy, and for her to be stable with another guy that deserved her. My heart breaks because A wasn’t given a choice.

That’s where my frustrations come in. That moment when I was really hooked into the scene where Rhiannon could have Alexander and they could now live happily and then I was looking forward to what will happen with A now, and where will he go to afterwards.. and all that was left to read, after the page was flipped, was ‘Acknowledgements’! I was really like.. flabbergasted. And furious. And quite angry. That was the first time a book had left me hanging. The book has quite disappointed me because I still have so many questions so HOW COULD YOU END LIKE THAT!

It took some time for me to realize that it was really the end when I was still furiously flipping the pages hoping that the ‘Acknowledgment’ page was just some kind of mistake, looking for missing pages.
I’ve got so many questions like how did A become like that? Like to possess and transfer to someone’s body. Like is A a boy or girl when he was born? Who are his parents? When is his birthdate? Is he the only one? Or is he not really alone just like what Rev. Poole had said? Where did he go afterwards? Did he go back to Rev. to settle those issues? What will happen to him if he’s going to possess a soldier and that soldier was shot during a battle? Would he die, too?

Huhuhu I’ve still got so many questions. And they were just left unanswered. I was disappointed really.
But now, since no one could answer my questions so far, I will just think this quote I got from the book,

“Every answer leads to more questions. The only way to survive is to let some of them go.”

*sigh Okay. I don’t have regrets reading the book, though. I recommend you to read it and I hope you’ll find contentment in your heart after you read the book. *laughs

You’re forever in my heart, A. :’)
#IQuiteLoveAndQuiteHateYouDavidLevithan

image

Leave a Reply

